The Geertz Prize

The Clifford Geertz Prize in the Anthropology of Religion seeks to encourage excellence in the anthropology of religion by recognizing an outstanding recent book in the field. The Prize is named in honor of the late Professor Clifford Geertz, in recognition of his many distinguished contributions to the anthropological study of religion. In awarding the Prize, the Society hopes to foster innovative scholarship, the integration of theory with ethnography, and the connection of the anthropology of religion to the larger world.

Any single-authored or co-authored book focusing on the anthropology of religion, broadly defined, is eligible for the Prize. Edited volumes, textbooks, and reference works are not eligible, nor are works in which religion is a secondary subject. The book’s author need not be an anthropologist by profession, but the work should draw on and respond to research and theory within the anthropology of religion. For the 2021 Prize competition, nominated books must have a publication date of 2018 or later. Books that have already been reviewed for the Prize will not be reconsidered. Books may be entered into the competition by authors, book editors, or colleagues. No formal letter of nomination is needed.

  • Read the 2021 Geertz Prize announcement here.
  • Read the 2020 Geertz Prize announcement here.
  • Read the 2019 Geertz Prize announcement here.
  • To see the 2018 winner and honorable mentions, click here.
2018 Geertz Prize
N. Fadeke Castor discussing her book Spiritual Citizenship: Transnational Pathways from Black Power to Ifá in Trinidad, winner of the 2018 Geertz Prize.

Recent Recipients of the Geertz Prize

Recent Geertz Prize Honorable Mentions