2015 Geertz Prize in the Anthropology of Religion

2015 Clifford Geertz Prize in the Anthropology of Religion and Honorable Mention

The Society for the Anthropology of Religion was proud to award the following prize at the 114th AAA Annual Meeting in Denver:

The Clifford Geertz Prize Award


The Geertz Prize seeks to encourage excellence in the anthropology of religion by recognizing an outstanding recent book in the field.  The prize is named in honor of the late Professor Clifford Geertz, in recognition of his many distinguished contributions to the anthropological study of religion.  In awarding the Prize, the Society hopes to foster innovative scholarship, the integration of theory with ethnography, and the connection of the anthropology of religion to the larger world. For more information about the award and a list of previous winners and honorable mentions, please visit http://sar.americananthro.org/activities/geertz/.

First Prize:

Lucinda Ramberg

Given to the Goddess: South Indian Devadasis and the Sexuality of Religion

(Duke University Press 2014)

Honorable Mention:

Nils Bubandt 

The Empty Seashell: Witchcraft and Doubt on an Indonesian Island

(Cornell University Press 2014)


In addition to the winner and runner-up titles, the Society for the Anthropology of Religion recognized the following four books as finalists for the 2015 Clifford Geertz Prize:

David Chidester 2014. Empire of Religion: Imperialism and Comparative Religion. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

Mayanthi Fernando 2014. The Republic Unsettled: Muslim French and the Contradictions of Secularism. Durham, NC: Duke University Press.

Smadar Lavie 2014. Wrapped in the Flag of Israel: Mizrahi Single Mothers and Bureaucratic Torture. New York: Berghahn Books.

Kevin Lewis O’Neill 2015. Secure the Soul: Christian Piety and Gang Prevention in Guatemala. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press.

CONGRATULATIONS to these scholars for continuing to improve the anthropology of religion!

Ramberg Winner 2015 2 Ramberg Winner 2015 3 Ramberg Winner 2015 Bubant Runner Up 2015